PDA

View Full Version : A friendly warning to all RangerTalk members


Mnikolic
02-13-2010, 07:09 PM
Be aware of the following private message:

Dear, Mnikolic;Gold Zeo Ranger;Yari_Naoshi;SparrowRanger;TokuFan!

There are viruses' activities from your computer! Highly recommend you to scan your computer for malicious and potentially unwanted software. If you do not follow this, I will have to make a complaint to your Internet Service Provider with attached log file (your IP address, etc.). If you want to find a report about your computer's security and solve every problem with it, please click here: http://www.total-scan.com/detected/Mnikolic;Gold Zeo Ranger;Yari_Naoshi;SparrowRanger;TokuFan
This is an online service that you can use for free spyware removal. Use it to scan your computer to help protect, clean, and keep your computer running at its best. Use the free scan to check for and remove viruses, spyware, and other potentially malicious software and to find vulnerabilities or shortcomings in your Internet security.

Thank you. Yours truly, Curtis Collins.


If this member who calls himself Kurtymann is not a staff member here on RangerTalk, then this member should be banned IMMEDIATELY. The member has been sending me warnings via PM about my computer having viruses and me having to click on the link in the PM to scan my computer for viruses. Well, I did click on the link and my Firefox has immediately blocked the site.

He has sent me the same PM three times and it is getting really annoying. I scanned my computer with my anti-virus program and it had found absolutely nothing that would require extreme action.
I have also replied to his PM after his second PM and I said that I was going to scan my computer (which I did), but he didn't answer my PM, it looks like he's continuing to send me the same PM over and over again. I just came to this board a few minutes ago and the same user has sent me 2 more PM's with the same exact content.

Staff members, please look into this and take appropriate action. I have included a quote from the PM that I got.

Question
02-13-2010, 07:11 PM
...seriously?

He's clearly a bot. Why'd you even click on the link?

Mnikolic
02-13-2010, 07:14 PM
Because I got scarred. I run a forum myself and I visit lots of different sites and forums DAILY and I didn't want anything to happen to anyone else's computer because of me.

I thought the message was serious at first, but now I see that it is not.

DarkLight
02-13-2010, 07:29 PM
You should never believe any of that stuff.

Hadouken
02-13-2010, 08:31 PM
...Just because he did...I kinda wanna click the link now :)

Mnikolic
02-13-2010, 09:47 PM
You should never believe any of that stuff.

I know, infact, I knew that, but I'm not taking any chances. I had a bad encounter with a computer virus a few years ago. The virus almost currupted all of my files and documents. I promissed myself then that I would make sure that no virus gets my computer. Ever.

...Just because he did...I kinda wanna click the link now :)

Looks like the staff members have done their work. I don't see the 3 PM messages anymore in my PM Inbox. Well done!

Besides, Firefox blocked that site anyway, so it doesn't matter now what was the site all about and what was its purpose.

Fire Warrior
02-13-2010, 09:49 PM
Yeah, you wanna be careful of those type of links because they often lead to stuff getting on your computer that can F it up. Just stick with your anti-virus program and you'll be good. :)

ForeverBlue
02-13-2010, 10:41 PM
mnikolic, you just need to use the report button. That's just a spambot. There have been a few spambots that have been doing this lately by PMs instead of posting.

GoldPhoenixRanger
02-14-2010, 05:11 AM
ForeverBlue is correct,

We have had more and more reported PM's from members saying this exact thing. We delete them as fast as we can (usually FB because he's around a lot) but unforutnatley they keep cropping up. I am going to look further into the problem to see if I can find a more permanant solution.

Until then, if you recieve one of these PM's DO NOT CLICK THE LINK!!!!!

Doing so will likley download viruses, spyware, adware, or any number of other malicious software programs onto your computer. If you recieve a PM like this, click the Report button and staff will take care of the problem.

- GoldPhoenixRanger
RT Administrator

Red Ranger 123
02-14-2010, 06:11 PM
I also got that same message several times. Eventually, I clicked the link and the wallpaper for my computer was gone, so I had to replace it.

ForeverBlue
02-14-2010, 06:22 PM
Just made a thread about it which is stickied.

The Deadman
02-14-2010, 06:41 PM
wasnt this guy banned once before?

Mnikolic
02-14-2010, 07:40 PM
mnikolic, you just need to use the report button. That's just a spambot. There have been a few spambots that have been doing this lately by PMs instead of posting.

OK, thank you for telling me that.

ForeverBlue is correct,

We have had more and more reported PM's from members saying this exact thing. We delete them as fast as we can (usually FB because he's around a lot) but unforutnatley they keep cropping up. I am going to look further into the problem to see if I can find a more permanant solution.

Until then, if you recieve one of these PM's DO NOT CLICK THE LINK!!!!!

Doing so will likley download viruses, spyware, adware, or any number of other malicious software programs onto your computer. If you recieve a PM like this, click the Report button and staff will take care of the problem.

- GoldPhoenixRanger
RT Administrator

Got it. Again, thanks for all your help, guys. You are doing a great job running this board! :D

ForeverBlue
02-14-2010, 10:47 PM
I'll just close this thread anyways.